Lab members

Dr Bernhard Dichtl – Group Leader

Bernhard developed a passion for RNA biology during an early undergraduate research experience in the Lab of Olke Uhlenback at the University of Colorado at Boulder, USA. After completing his diploma thesis on the biochemical characterization of gap junction proteins he returned to RNA for his PhD studies at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg, Germany and at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland where he was working on the molecular toxicity of lithium and the processing of ribosomal RNA and transfer RNA precursors. Supported by an EMBO long-term fellowship he then took up post-doctoral work at the Biocenter in Basel, Switzerland, where he studied the mechanisms of pre-mRNA polyadenylation and transcription termination. A highly competitive and prestigious Foerderprofessur grant from the Swiss National Science Foundation allowed him to establish his own research group at the Institute of Molecular Life Sciences, University of Zurich, Switzerland. There, he expanded his research activities to the analyses of chromatin modifying enzymes and the assembly of multi-protein complexes. Bernhard’s laboratory relocated to Deakin University 2011. In 2014 he won an ARC Discovery Project grant to study the mechanisms of protein complex formation.


Pranav Damree – Honours student (2024)

Senuka Hettiriachchi – Honours student (2024)


Deakin University Lab Alumni

Ahmad Abdallah – Honours student (2023)

Kai Jie Soo – Honours student (2022)

Qambar Hasan – PhD candidate (2016/2020)

Tamara Haddad – Honours student (2020/21)

Tee Xiang – Honours student (2020/21)

Akriti Varshney – Honours student (2019/20)

Bibek Khatiwada – Masters student (2019/20)

Demagi Herath – Honours student (2018)

Lee Henneken – Honours student (2017/18)

Dr Neal Williams – Postdoc (2015/17)

Katelyn Meier – Honours student (2016)

Mitchell Flynn – Honours student (2016)

Melissa Curtis – Honours student (2014)

Dr Beatriz Dichtl – Postdoc (2011/13)

Amelia Summers – Honours student (2013)

Caitlin Ioannidis – Honours student (2012)


University of Zurich Lab Alumni

Murat Aykut – Masters student (2009/10)

Vanina Dengler – Masters student (2009/10)

Simonetta Scola – Masters student (2008/09)

Dr Andre Halbach –  Postdoc (2008/09)

Dr Beatriz Dichtl –  Postdoc (2008/09)

Dr Luisa Mariconti – Postdoc (2006/07)

Dr Haidi Zhang – Postdoc (2005/07)

Marc Schneider – Masters student (2006/07)

Isabel Gruber – PhD student (2005/09)

Sandra Holbein – PhD student (2004/08)

Agnieszka Wengi – Lab technician (2004/09)